FIFA names 16 cities as hosts for 2026 World Cup


FIFA has
announced the host cities for the 2026 World Cup which will be co-hosted by the
United States, Canada, and Mexico.

The list of host cities was revealed in a ceremony in New
York on Thursday.

Sixteen cities across the three countries were approved to
stage the largest World Cup ever with 48 teams — expanding from its current
format of 32.

The US has Kansas City, Dallas, Atlanta, Houston, New
York/New Jersey, Boston, Seattle, Philadelphia, Miami, San Francisco, and Los

While Mexico has Guadalajara, Monterrey, and
Mexico City, Canada will be represented by just two cities, Toronto and



tournament will be the first World Cup to be c0-hosted by three countries.

The US tabled the joint bid in 2017 and defeated Morrocco
for the hosting rights at the 68th FIFA congress in 2018.

Africa is set to
have nine automatic qualification spots in the expanded format, while a tenth
country from the continent will participate in a six-nation playoff tournament
which will decide the last two slots in the tournament.

The continent currently has five automatic slots in the


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *